Construction of a new central warehouse at the ‘Kraftwerke Mainz-Wiesbaden’ compound

Objectinformation


Beginning of construction:   2008
Completion:   End of 2009
(building fabric May 2009) :  
Effective area:   5800 m²
Gross floor area:   2800 m²
Gross volume:   36.900 m³
Total cost:   14 m €

Scope Of Planing


Structural Design
Thermal Building Physics
Fire Protection
Power Engineering Consulting

Project


As part of the infrastructure activities for a new coal-fired power plant, the sophisticated prefab component construction for the new central warehouse, including an office level and rooftop information center, is currently arising. The building under construction has a base area of 2400 sqm and will accommodate a 10m high – area by area dynamically rail-mounted - high-bay racking with state-of-the-art logistics. At the upper floors high-quality office space with a structurally integrated component cooling system as well as an information center, including representative exhibition and seminar rooms, will be realized. CSZ is entrusted with structural design and building physics.

Due to the different requirements of the office and information center area at the upper floors and the widely column-free storage and logistics space at the ground floor, the entire load coming from the supporting structure of the upper floors is transferred via a support grid with span width up to 18.75 m. The foundation of the interior columns, loaded up to 7.5 MN, at the former Rhine alluvium was realized by pile foundation, in conjunction with an elastically supported ground beam. For upgrading of the subsoil and to ensure the high demands on the evenness of the foundation by the dynamic carrier-push-back racking system, more than 2000 additional mortar and gravel columns were placed using vibro displacement densification.

Thus soil exchange of the up to 6 m mighty alluvial deposits was completely avoided, whereby both the construction costs as well as the construction period were significantly reduced. With the high degree of prefabrication of the load-bearing design, and innovative solutions in close cooperation of the planning team, the architect (Braun, Darmstadt, Germany) and the client, the building shell could be completed on schedule within only 6 month, despite a considerable inactive period caused by the harsh winter of 2009.

Client


Kraftwerke Mainz-Wiesbaden AG I

Architect


Heinz Braun, Architekten und Ingenieure, Darmstadt

Neubau eines Zentrallagers auf dem Gelände der Kraftwerke Mainz-Wiesbaden

Objektinformationen


Hauptnutzfläche:   5800 m²
Bruttogrundrissfläche:   2400 m²
Bruttorauminhalt:   36.900 m³
Gesamtbaukosten:   14 Mio. €
Baubeginn:   Oktober 2008
Fertigstellung:   Ende 2009
(Rohbau Mai 2009) :  

Erbrachte Leistungen


Tragwerksplanung
Thermische Bauphysik
Brandschutz
Energietechnische Beratung

Projektbeschreibung


Als Teil der Infrastrukturmaßnahmen für ein neues Kohlekraftwerk entsteht zur Zeit die anspruchsvolle Fertigteilkonstruktion für das neue Zentrallager mit einem Bürogeschoss und INFO-Center auf dem Dach. Der Neubau mit 2400 qm Grundfläche dient der Unterbringung eines 10m hohen - bereichsweise auf Schienen dynamisch geführten - Hochregallagers mit modernster Logistik. In den Obergeschossen entstehen hochwertige Büroräume mit einer in das Tragwerk integrierten Bauteilkühlung und einem Informationszentrum mit repräsentativen Ausstellungs- und Seminarräumen. CSZ ist mit den Leistungen der Tragwerksplanung und Bauphysik beauftragt.

Infolge der differenten Anforderungen durch die Büro- und Infocenterebene in den Obergeschossen und den weitgehend stützenfreien Lager- und Logistikflächen im Erdgeschoss, wird die gesamte Tragkonstruktion der Obergeschosse über ein bis zu 18,75m weit gespanntes Trägerrostsystem abgetragen. Die Gründung im ehemaligen Schwemmland des Rheins der bis zu 7,5 MN belasteten Innenstützen erfolgte über eine Pfahlgründung in Verbindung mit elastisch gebetteten Pfahlkopfbalken. Zur Ertüchtigung des Bodens und zur Gewährleistung der hohen Ebenheitsanforderungen des dynamischen Palettenregalsystems an die Gründung wurden zusätzlich über 2000 Mörtel- und Schottersäulen im Rüttelstopfverfahren eingebracht.

Ein Bodenaustausch der bis zu 6m mächtigen Schwemm-schicht wurde somit vollständig vermieden, wodurch sowohl die Baukosten als auch die Bauzeit erheblich verringert wurden. Mit dem hohen Vorfertigungsgrad der tragenden Konstruktion, innovativen Detaillösungen und in enger Zusammenarbeit im Planungsteam mit dem Objektplaner (Büro Braun aus Darmstadt) und dem Bauherren, ist es gelungen, den Rohbau, trotz erheblichen Ausfallzeiten infolge des strengen Winters 2009, in nur 6 Monaten termingerecht zu übergeben.

Auftraggeber


Kraftwerke Mainz-Wiesbaden AG I

Architekt


Heinz Braun, Architekten und Ingenieure, Darmstadt